DONATE NOW

Mothers Wing Capital Campaign

Visit & Connect


Monday through Friday
10:00 am to 6:00 pm

Saturday
9:30 am to Noon

18 Maine Street
PO Box 391
Kennebunkport, ME 04046

 (207) 967-2778

 Email Us

 Like Us

downloadLibraryArrow
image001

Kids & Teens


Jun
19
Mon
SUMMER READING – BUILD A BETTER WORLD @ Louis T. Graves Memorial Public Library
Jun 19 @ 10:00 am – Aug 25 @ 6:00 pm

Starting on June 19th the Graves Library will offer its 2017 Summer Reading Program – Build a Better World.

 

The Library will showcase new books and help with reading packets for the summer.  Please call the Library at 967-2778 for more details.  All ages are welcome to join.

Jun
29
Thu
EV-3 LEGO ROBOTICS – JUNE 29 and 30 @ Louis T. Graves Memorial Public Library
Jun 29 @ 1:00 pm – 4:00 pm

Join us for the EV-3 Lego Robotics Workshop.  Children ages 9 and up are invited to bring a robot to life!  Learn basic programming skills and use your imagination for hours of fun.  For further information and to pre-register, please call the Library at 967-2778.

Jun
30
Fri
Storytime
Jun 30 @ 10:00 am – 11:00 am
EV-3 LEGO ROBOTICS – JUNE 29 and 30 @ Louis T. Graves Memorial Public Library
Jun 30 @ 1:00 pm – 4:00 pm

Join us for the EV-3 Lego Robotics Workshop.  Children ages 9 and up are invited to bring a robot to life!  Learn basic programming skills and use your imagination for hours of fun.  For further information and to pre-register, please call the Library at 967-2778.

Jul
5
Wed
ALL ABOUT ROCKS – July 5 @ Louis T. Graves Memorial Public Library
Jul 5 all-day

What can you do with rocks?  Create an animal, build mini rock cairns, and much more!  Children of all ages are welcome.

Upcoming Events


Jun
29
Thu
AN EVENING WITH BEST-SELLING AUTHOR – WILLIAM MARTIN @ Kennebunk River Club
Jun 29 @ 5:30 pm – 7:30 pm

The Trustees of the Louis T. Graves Memorial Public Library are pleased to announce their 5th annual Author Event to be held June 29, 2017. The Kennebunk River Club has graciously made the Casino available for this special presentation to our patrons and friends in the community.

This year’s fundraising event will feature:New York Times best-selling author, William Martin. Our presenting sponsor is the Captain Lord Mansion, through the generosity of innkeepers, Rick and Bev Litchfield. We are also delighted to have Dr. Joseph Kenneally, DDS, Pack Maynard Real Estate, Kennebunk Beach Realty, Bergen Parkinson, LLC, Captain Jefferds Inn, and Spinnaker Trust as our corporate sponsors.  Local support donated by Downeast Wine Imports, Kitchen Chicks Catering, and Village Paperie.

Following in the tradition of David McCullough, Douglas Brinkley, David Oshinsky and Mark Updegrove, Mr. Martin has numerous literary accomplishments in the realm of historical novels including, The Lost Constitution, Citizen Washington, Back Bay, and The Lincoln Letter.   In 2015, the USS CONSTITUTION Museum gave him the Samuel Eliot Morison Award for “patriotic pride, artful scholarship, and an eclectic interest in the sea and things maritime.”

Mr. Martin will address a special audience of Graves Library patrons on June 29th at the Kennebunk River Club Casino (5:30 PM).  Tickets for this event will be available for sale at the Library in mid-May.  Limited seating available.  Please call the Library for further information  (967-2778).

 

 

 

Sep
17
Sun
PASCO LECTURE with ROGER GINN @ Louis T. Graves Memorial Public Library
Sep 17 @ 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm

The Graves Library is pleased to welcome local author, Roger Ginn to discuss his latest work New England must not be trampled on : the tragic death of Jonathan Cilley, on Sunday, June 11 at 2:00 p.m.  Published by DownEast Books in 2016, this biography reveals Cilley’s short life, ie., his early years in New Hampshire, at Bowdoin College, and friendship with Nathaniel Hawthorne.

On February 24, 1938, Maine congressman Jonathan Cilley was killed in Maryland by another congressman from Kentucky in one of the last duels to take place in the United States.  At the time, dueling was not illegal, but Cilley’s death was still a shock to the nation.

Roger Ginn is a retired psychologist who has long had a passion for history.  His interest in what could drive a man to challenge another to a duel of honor, or to accept such a challenge, is what led him to the story of Jonathan Cilley.  He lives in Wells, Maine.

 

 

 

The Pasco Lecture Series is sponsored by the Stephen and Tabitha King Foundation, Kennebunk Savings Bank, and the Graves Library Snack Team.  The Library is located at 18 Maine Street, Kennebunkport, Maine.  Please call the Library at (207) 967-2778 for information on this event or other upcoming programs.  Light refreshments will be served.

 

Nov
19
Sun
PASCO LECTURE with KATHERINE HALL PAGE @ Louis T. Graves Memorial Public Library
Nov 19 @ 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm

Katherine Hall Page is the author of seventeen previous Faith Fairchild mysteries, the first of which received the Agatha Award for best first mystery, and recently The Body in the Snowdrift was honored with the Agatha Award for best novel of 2006. Page also won an Agatha for her short story “The Would-Be Widower.” She lives in Massachusetts with her husband and son.

 

 

Minster’s wife, caterer, and part-time sleuth Faith Fairchild pairs up with Sophie Maxwell, last seen in Body in the Birches and now a newlywed living in historic Savannah, Georgia, where Sophie crosses paths with murder. Another delightful entry in the beloved mystery series, complete with delectable recipes.

Attorney Sophie Maxwell has come to Savannah to be with her new husband, Will. But nothing throws cold water on a hot relationship faster than a dead body. Worse for Sophie, no one believes the body she knows she saw is real. Will is spending an awful lot of time in Atlanta on a case he claims is urgent, and she’s been tasked with house hunting for them with his former sweetheart, who Sophie can’t help but suspect wishes Sophie would return to her Yankee roots! (Amazon.com)

 

The Pasco Lecture Series is sponsored by the Stephen and Tabitha King Foundation, Kennebunk Savings Bank, and the Graves Library Snack Team.  The Library is located at 18 Maine Street, Kennebunkport, Maine.  Please call the Library at (207) 967-2778 for information on this event or other upcoming programs.  Light refreshments will be served.