DONATE NOW

Mothers Wing Capital Campaign

Visit & Connect


Monday through Friday
10:00 am to 6:00 pm

Saturday
9:30 am to Noon

18 Maine Street
PO Box 391
Kennebunkport, ME 04046

 (207) 967-2778

 Email Us

 Like Us

downloadLibraryArrow
image001

Kids & Teens


Jun
2
Fri
Storytime
Jun 2 @ 10:00 am – 11:00 am
Jun
7
Wed
LOVE TO READ BOOK CLUB – JUNE 7 @ Louis T. Graves Memorial Public Library
Jun 7 @ 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm

The Love to Read Book Group meets on early release Wednesdays.  Miss Terri walks over to Consolidated School to collect her readers.  They meet upstairs in the Children’s Room from 12:00 to 1:00 pm.  Copies of the books chosen are supplied.  For grades 3 and up.  Please call for more information.  967-2778

Jun
9
Fri
Storytime
Jun 9 @ 10:00 am – 11:00 am
Jun
14
Wed
DROP IN CRAFT – SEA SHELL ART @ Louis T. Graves Memorial Public Library
Jun 14 all-day

Please stop by any time during the hours of 10:00 am and 5:00 pm for a drop-in craft.  We will provide all the materials for a Seashell Craft.  For all ages.  Young children must be accompanied by an adult.  No registration required.  For further information, please call (207) 967-2778 and ask for the Junior Room or visit our website at http://www.graveslibrary.org

Jun
16
Fri
Storytime
Jun 16 @ 10:00 am – 11:00 am

Upcoming Events


Jun
3
Sat
MEMORY CAFE – AT HUNTINGTON COMMON @ Bradford Court - Huntington Common
Jun 3 @ 12:45 pm – 1:45 pm
Jun
4
Sun
PASCO LECTURE with ELIZABETH BRUNDAGE @ Louis T. Graves Memorial Public Library
Jun 4 @ 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm

 

Elizabeth Brundage graduated from Hampshire College, attended the NYU film school, was a screenwriting fellow at the American Film Institute in Los Angeles, and received an MFA as well as a James Michener Award from the University of Iowa Writers’ Workshop. She has taught at a variety of colleges and universities, most recently at Skidmore College, where she was visiting writer-in-residence. She lives near Albany in upstate New York.

 

Late one winter afternoon in upstate New York, George Clare comes home to find his wife murdered and their three-year-old daughter alone–for how many hours?–in her room down the hall. He had recently, begrudgingly, taken a position at the private college nearby teaching art history, and moved his family into this tight-knit, impoverished town. And he is the immediate suspect–the question of his guilt echoing in a story shot through with secrets both personal and professional. While his parents rescue him from suspicion, a persistent cop is stymied at every turn in proving Clare a heartless murderer. The pall of death is ongoing, and relentless; behind one crime are others, and more than twenty years will pass before a hard kind of justice is finally served. At once a classic “who-dun-it” that morphs into a “why-and-how-dun-it,” this is also a rich and complex portrait of a psychopath and a marriage, and an astute study of the various taints that can scar very different families, and even an entire community.

The Pasco Lecture Series is sponsored by the Stephen and Tabitha King Foundation, Kennebunk Savings Bank, and the Graves Library Snack Team.  The Library is located at 18 Maine Street, Kennebunkport, Maine.  Please call the Library at (207) 967-2778 for information on this event or other upcoming programs.  Light refreshments will be served.

 

Jun
17
Sat
MEMORY CAFE – AT HUNTINGTON COMMON @ Bradford Court - Huntington Common
Jun 17 @ 12:45 pm – 1:45 pm
Jun
23
Fri
A NIGHT AT SUMMER CAMP – A LUXE DESIGNER SHOWCASE – FRIDAY, JUNE 23 @ Sandy Pines Campground
Jun 23 @ 6:00 pm – 10:00 pm

A Night at Summer Camp – A Luxe Designer Tent Showcase – Celebrating the Campground’s Opening and Benefiting Local Charities.

A charity gala to reveal Sandy Pines luxe glamping design tents.  All proceeds benefit four local non-profit organizations.  Louis T. Graves Memorial Public Library, Southern Maine Health Care Auxiliary, Kennebunkport Conservation Trust, Community Harvest Project.  Food provided by Kitchen Chicks.  Music by Sultans of Swing.

This event will be held at Sandy Pines Campground, 277 Mills Road, Kennebunkport.  To purchase tickets, please visit the summercamppreview.eventbrite.com website.

Starting on June 24 through July 2, Show House-Daily Tours of Safari Tents (11:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.) $15.00 pp in advance; $20 at the door.  Purchase tickets online: summercampshowcase.eventbrite.com

Jun
29
Thu
AN EVENING WITH BEST-SELLING AUTHOR – WILLIAM MARTIN @ Kennebunk River Club
Jun 29 @ 5:30 pm – 7:30 pm

The Trustees of the Louis T. Graves Memorial Public Library are pleased to announce their 5th annual Author Event to be held June 29, 2017. The Kennebunk River Club has graciously made the Casino available for this special presentation to our patrons and friends in the community.

This year’s fundraising event will feature:New York Times best-selling author, William Martin. Our presenting sponsor is the Captain Lord Mansion, through the generosity of innkeepers, Rick and Bev Litchfield. We are also delighted to have Dr. Joseph Kenneally, DDS, Pack Maynard Real Estate, Kennebunk Beach Realty, Bergen Parkinson, LLC, Captain Jefferds Inn, and Spinnaker Trust as our corporate sponsors.  Local support donated by Downeast Wine Imports, Kitchen Chicks Catering, and Village Paperie.

Following in the tradition of David McCullough, Douglas Brinkley, David Oshinsky and Mark Updegrove, Mr. Martin has numerous literary accomplishments in the realm of historical novels including, The Lost Constitution, Citizen Washington, Back Bay, and The Lincoln Letter.   In 2015, the USS CONSTITUTION Museum gave him the Samuel Eliot Morison Award for “patriotic pride, artful scholarship, and an eclectic interest in the sea and things maritime.”

Mr. Martin will address a special audience of Graves Library patrons on June 29th at the Kennebunk River Club Casino (5:30 PM).  Tickets for this event will be available for sale at the Library in mid-May.  Limited seating available.  Please call the Library for further information  (967-2778).